There Will Be Time

Somewhere out there sea waves beckon…
But I suppose it is not to me.
For I have laid my life on rulers edges
One inch margins and double spacing.
I have been the golden girl,
Measured and tested
And reduced to a ranking.

Well, my mother told me what to be.
My grandmother told me what to be.
The world told me what to be.
But oh what a thing is destiny
What a thing is meant to be.
For what on earth is pre-determined
But death and taxes and the bell curve.
But was it shaped by divine hands?
And was I placed by God above?
In my rank and in my average,
And is this the sum of all I’ll ever be?
The way you talk
You are determined,
To make this all I’ll ever be.

But there will be time enough for more.
Vacillations and hesitations
Endless revisions and endless regrets.
There will be time enough for glory too
To beat them all, to play the king, to slay the dragon, to win, to win!
And there will be time enough to sit at tea
And reflect
That all was satisfactory.

But now it is enough to smash my gear
To miss and fall, and fall apart
To take last place and smile.
Sincerely, ploddingly,
Now there is time only to play the fool.

Yes, there will be time enough for glory still
And time enough to give up on my dreams.
My dreams…
Born at age three
From family tradition and a love of money
When were they my dreams?

And somewhere out there sea waves beckon
But I suppose, I suppose…

There will be time enough still.
Now there is a life defined
By rulers edges
One inch margins
Double spacing

Leave a Reply

